Rotary encoder controlling audio speed in pd

So, for the last while I’ve been trying to use a rotary encoder to control the speed of an audio track in pd, and I’ve managed to get it going some bit.

Reason why:

So when people churn the butter churn audio tracks begin to play. People have to keep churning in order to hear the audio track.

Pros:

It does what its supposed to do, but

cons:

Only works reliably if its turned clockwise.

I think the pros out weigh the cons so the next step is to try and embed it in the churn and see how it works and then test it to see what people think of it.

Huge thanks to Alan Spillane who was a great help. He sent me on his project which had all the code. Thanks Alan!

Also, thanks to the people on the Pure Data forum who helped me out by responding to my plea for help and posting a sketch! http://puredata.hurleur.com/viewtopic.php?pid=39854#p39854

2 responses to “Rotary encoder controlling audio speed in pd

  1. Hello. great project. I’m trying to make a diy digital turntable with a rotary encoder and pd. would it be possible to get your code? would be a big help! thank you very much. best regards. paul

    • Hi Paul. I can’t recall exactly how I got this going, but what I can do is send old files and folders of this project onto you, if that helps? Is your email the one you commented with? Sorry I can’t be of more help to you!

Leave a comment